Download!eBook – Economic importance of trees

Mumbai Airport receives ACA level II accreditation for reducing its carbon emissions

Airports Council International (ACI) has accredited Chhatrapati Shivaji International Airport (CSIA), Mumbai for its level II accreditation for reducing its carbon emissions. This certification is issued for the year 2012-13. There are just five airports including CSIA in Asia-Pacific region working towards reducing carbon emissions that have received Airport Carbon Accreditation from ACI.

In the year 2009, Airports Council International Europe (ACI EUROPE) launched Airport Carbon Accreditation (ACA) as the result of growing concerns towards growing carbon emissions and its impacts on climate change. ACA allow Airport operators to participate in the efforts to manage and reduce their CO₂ emissions (Read more on Airport Carbon Accreditation).

Airport Carbon Accreditation is an independent programme administered by WSP Environment & Energy, an international consultancy appointed by ACI EUROPE to enforce the accreditation criteria for airports on an annual basis.

There are four categories under which airport have to be accredited. These categories are based on different levels like carbon emission mapping, reduction, optimization and neutrality (i.e. level I, II, III and IV).

Airport Carbon Accreditation-Four levels of certification

Airport Carbon Accreditation-Four levels of certification

Please click here to read more on these four stages

Following list shows the accreditation level of the different airports in Asia-Pacific region;

Sr. No Airports Level
Hong Kong International Airport Level III
Chhatrapati Shivaji International Airport (CSIA), Mumbai, India Level II
Bengaluru International Airport, Bangalore, India Level II
India Gandhi International Airport, Delhi, India Level II
Rajeev Gandhi International Airport, Hyderabad , India Level II
Abu Dhabi International Airport, UAE Level I
Suvarnabhumi Airport, Thailand Level I
Singapore Changi Airport Level I

Airport Carbon Accreditation was extended to airports in the Asia-Pacific region from November 2011 onwards. As mentioned in the table above, by April 2013, there are eight airports in this region that have succeeded in achieving the said accreditation.

One Comment

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *